I’d risk my lifeblood

Daily Prompt: Might As Well Jump

by michelle w. on June 18, 2013

What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/daily-prompt-jump/

The biggest risk I would take, should the circumstances be in my favour is quit my job. Preferably I’d like to work in a more creative field. A job where everyday is different but not in a chaotic way. 

I never in my wildest dreams thought of working in the film industry and from what I hear its a cut throat field to be in. But since I started dabbling in writing, I ran an idea (more like a thought) past a friend who is in the film industry, of course qualified and everything (unlike me) and he introduced me to his friend who’s a screen writer. I haven’t had a chance to have a proper conversation with the screenwriter but it got me thinking. When the credits of a movie plays everyone gets up and walks out. If like me you tend to really veg out in front of the TV and don’t mind just staring blankly at the screen, you would have noticed that it takes quite a number of people to make the film. 

images

When the teacher asks the students what they’d like to be when they grow up, you hear doctor, lawyer, engineer, air hostess. Have you ever heard a kid saying, “I want to be a gaffer when I grow up”? What the heck is a gaffer? 

This is a Gaffer ^ Gaffers are responsible for managing lighting including associated resources such as labor and electrical under the directions of Director of Photography (the DP or DOP) or, in television, the Lighting Director (LD).

What this makes me realize is that there is so much more to life than being a fire-fighter or nurse. 

I think I’d really enjoy working in the film industry, you get to travel, meet famous,(and) interesting people and go to big events. And you get paid to work with a team of like-minded people to everyday, create something out of nothing. I love that. 

film

It’s a risk for me however because I have responsibilities and thrive on security. I need the security of a 9 to 5 job. I need the security of permanent employment, I’ll get a mini heart attack every time my contract comes to an end. I don’t have the qualifications and I don’t know if I even have the talent for it (what ever ‘it’ may be) but if somehow I can be assured that I will always have an income, then I’d go for it full force. 

I don’t know what the future holds for me and I believe anything is possible so maybe someday I’d get a taste of what its like to have an interesting, creative job that doesn’t require data processing. 

When that happens I’ll be sure to blog about it!

18 responses to “I’d risk my lifeblood

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Took A Leap Of Faith | My Daily Prompt Blog·

  2. Pingback: Might As Well Jump! | New Visions·

  3. Pingback: Darling! You simply MUST read my screenplay! | The Cheeky Diva·

  4. Pingback: A COVENANT MADE | hastywords·

  5. Pingback: Fear Of Books (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat·

  6. Pingback: Donate | Vivir, que no es poco·

  7. Why not write a script? 🙂 Even if it’s short. Even if it’s just for yourself. You never know what might happen one day 🙂
    I studied screenwriting at UCT and absolutely loved it. It’s chaotic and crazy but if you enjoy writing and creativity, it’s awesome.

    You never know unless you try 😉

    • You did? That’s cool! Well I wouldn’t know where to start but I guess thats why Google was invented… I plan to call the screenwriter today but Im so nervous (he works for e TV her in CT) *eek* but I’ll call him just to get some insight. Why not right?

Leave a comment