Impossible is Nothing

Daily Prompt: Impossibility

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

This is a tough one because if you look at my sticky you’ll see my featured pic:

quoteWithout stating the obvious things, I don’t believe anything is set in stone (besides things that are literally set in stone) and that anything is possible. One day even the sun will rise in the west (judgement day). 

One thing I am 99.9% certain of  is; me doing the Cape Argus Cycle Tour next year is impossible. 

In December I bought a mountain bike (apparently not best for the cycle tour), I bought it for recreational purposes more than for sport. However cycling seems to be the number 1 sport of choice lately. When driving home from work I have to dodge dozens of cyclists in each suburb I pass, who are practicing for this or that race.

So when I asked my colleague who sells cycling t-shirts for a spare, she assumed I’d be taking part and then ‘the news’ floated around the office. Practically everyone that heard congratulated me, “Good for you!” they cheered. I must admit I felt slightly pressurized to do it. But honestly it won’t happen. I’ve never been athletic. Going to the gym was fun the few months I attended but jumping around in Zumba classes like a baboon can’t count as training. 

During summer break I made use of my new toy, riding almost every morning but then we moved house, work started and it all went to pot. 

At my current home I don’t even have anywhere to store it, so its standing in my dads back yard, rusting. One evening my husband and I went around the neighborhood.  I was dragged in  by the front door and nearly passed out due to asthma attack and lack of hydration (the latter was stupid I know) 

Saturday I had an opportunity to ride the bike to the shop (about 400 meters from home) to buy my mom cigarettes. So I hopped on and peddled my little legs off . The gears are horribly positioned and keep getting shifted by my hands unintentionally, but off I went. 

In my defense let me state that I was going uphill. I only managed to get pass 4 houses before my chest heaved and my legs slowed to a near halt. I trudged on and got to the relatively level part of the road. I was out of breathe when I got to the local shop. Needless to say, when I went back, I flew home by just rolling downhill. When I hopped off my legs were jelly. 

Its sad but I’m realistic. Me riding the Argus is impossible. 

13 responses to “Impossible is Nothing

  1. Pingback: Not possible, or is it? | Spunky Wayfarer·

  2. Pingback: 6 Things That Should Be Possible | Stuphblog·

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impossibility « Mama Bear Musings·

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impossibility | My Atheist Blog·

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impossibility | My Blog·

  6. Pingback: Dreaming the Impossible | Paul Scribbles·

  7. Pingback: You may just reach the moon | The Daily Dilly Dally·

  8. Pingback: The One That Mother Gives You Doesn’t Do Anything At All | The Jittery Goat·

  9. Pingback: 6 Impossible-ossible Things | Cheri Speak·

    • No worries, you’re not the only one encouraging me. Its not like I’m living an unhealthy lifestyle, things are just too convenient now days so being active requires effort. My husband just told me last night he’s getting fat, so who knows. Maybe a challenge is coming.

  10. Pingback: Gotta Make it Possible | studio Nem·

  11. Pingback: Its on like donkey kong | Right Down My Alley·

Leave a Reply

