Modesty

Ramadan is an auspicious month wherein Muslims worldwide can turn back to their creator and re-evaluate their lifestyle. 

As humans we are easily swayed to the ways of the unrighteous and we pick up bad habits.  Allah SWT is Most Merciful and knows us and our struggles, at any point in time when we realize that we’re on the wrong path, we can turn back and repent. Ramadan however is the one month that we as a community can fulfill our duties together as one. There are so many benefits of Ramadan that can be discussed but I am not the person to do that. I am just a regular woman, doing my best to better myself. 

Since I live in a western influenced society, there is one issue that I as a woman personally face.

Modesty. Besides the above prejudice we have to deal with on a daily basis, there are temptations. With all the beauty and fashion media everywhere we look, it’s hard not to get sucked into the wormhole, especially when you’re young and impressionable. As I’ve grown older, I have learned to protect myself and my body but I still love fashion and I still have the desire to flaunt. dressing

Modest fashion is something that I thought I’d have to develop myself but over the years, its grown tremendously. 

Via social media one can see how overnight many of the women folk have suddenly donned hijab and just as quickly after Ramadan they revert back to their old ways. 

word2

I am one of the women that has decided to practice modesty during this holy month. With everyone else doing the same it’s that much easier. The challenge will really come when Eid arrives though. Do I follow the flock and celebrate this holy day by dressing up in red carpet worthy evening wear with styled hair to match? Do I take the risk of being compared to a prude and preserve my new found modest attire?

Even if I do continue to keep my assets properly concealed, eventually summer will come and I will be tempted to remove my scarf, then I will be tempted to wear short sleeves. I haven’t worn skirts shorter than my knees since I was a teen though, that I’m proud of. Nonetheless it will be difficult and I will have to find ways to keep cool without being half naked.word3

We’ve all got our weaknesses. I do however believe; the harder the challenge, the greater the reward. There are 15 more days to this comforting, glorious month. Time will tell how strong or weak I am. 

Modest girls being sassy.. hmm I don’t have to dress like grandma, it won’t be so bad.

Leave a Reply

