Minimalism- convincing myself

I am really finding the minimalist lifestyle more and more appealing. Unfortunately, I’m lazy in general and the definition of a procrastinator so I really need convincing to change my lifestyle.

Clean lines and open space is what most appeals to me with regard to decor style and I know that  living in a home that is orderly puts me in a really good space mentally.

However, it’s hard to maintain this order when you’re living ‘under’ piles and heaps of stuff. It actually gets to a point where it drives me insane and I can’t rest until its all out of sight. Living in a small apartment and accumulating more useless possessions over the years didn’t help. Its for this reason and also my last post that I feel I have to find practical and easy ways for someone like me to change my consumerist mind.

To get me started I have to remove the enormity of “changing my lifestyle” and just think of it as a casual spring clean. To wrap my head around the task at hand I have to start with baby steps and think of what exactly my goal is and what I need to do to achieve that goal.

I am a creature of habit though, so to get me motivated I looked into what the benefits are of minimalism.  I found an insightful list on http://www.becomingminimalist.com. I hope that it will also inspire you to implement some of the practices to improve your daily living.

1. Spend Less  | Choosing to accumulate only the essential often results in financial freedom.

2. Less Stress | A minimalist home is significantly less stressful.

3. Easier to Clean | The fewer things in our home, the easier they are to clean.

4. More Freedom | The sense of freedom that comes from minimalism is truly refreshing.

5. Good for the Environment | The less we consume, the less damage we do to the environment.

6. Be More Productive | Our possessions consume our time more than we realize.

7. Example for my Kids | These are valuable life lessons they will never learn in the media.

8. Support Other Causes | Money is only as valuable as what we choose to spend it on.

9. Own Higher Quality Things | More is not better… better is better.

10. Less Work for Someone Else | Create a less stressful life today and lessen the burden on someone else too.

11. Be Happier | Owning fewer possessions makes you happier.

12. Do Work You Love | Own less stuff. Choose work you love.

13. Freedom From the Comparison Game | Our culture begs us to own more.

14. Time for Things that Matter Most | The more stuff you own, the more your stuff owns you.

15. Visually Appealing | Make your home more appealing.

16. Not Tied to the Past | Release the past to create a better tomorrow.

17. Less Places for Your Heart | Invest your heart into meaningful things.

18. More Opportunity for Rest | Take a deep breath.

19. Find Things Easier | Own less clutter. Find stuff quicker.

20. Live in a Smaller Space | For most families, a house is the costliest investment they’ll ever make.

21. Display What You Value Most | Communicate what is most important.

3 responses to “Minimalism- convincing myself

  1. Pingback: In Pursuit of Happiness | The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment·

  2. Pingback: Minimalist Home | MetroGypsy·

  3. Pingback: A Visual Guide to Minimalist Home Decor·

Leave a Reply

