Happiness is Fulfillment

I hope I don’t sound too immature and I know I’ve mentioned this before in Enjoying my Hobby but I’m so happy I started writing. 

I know I’ve always been eloquent when putting words together, (you should see my facebook status’) I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get to this point. What have I been doing all these years? I often told my husband when I felt depressed that I have no friends, I have no life. He’d tell me to get a hobby and I’d say I don’t know what to do. I enjoyed drawing and I always wanted to paint but I’d get frustrated when I couldn’t get the picture exactly as it was in my head, through my neck, into my arm and out of my fingers. I signed up for classes but life got in the way. 

Since I was just a kid I imagined stories in my head. I’d make it up as I went along. I even illustrated my first ‘book’ when I was about 9. However it never occurred to me that I could use that talent as a hobby. When teachers told us to write essays it was for credits not for fun. Slowly I reached a point where I realized that having stories in my head is not a psychological problem that I should be ashamed of.  

With writing, I feel complete. Now I can paint a picture with my words. I have a way to live imaginary lives and become anyone I want to be through characters.  The sense of fulfillment I feel after writing, even after just a two page story for Daily Prompt is indescribable. It’s so awesome. Another bonus is that this needn’t be a best seller or even reach the eyes of another person. It’s just an outlet. When I show others it’s just because I feel so proud of myself. Like a 6 year old running to her dad showing him her stick figure drawing. 

It makes me happy and I’m so grateful for finding this. *Yay* 

This is me right now (and don’t ask me what I’ve been smoking)

Leave a Reply

