HAVING IT ALL

The topic of working mom vs stay-at-home-mom is a bit overused lately, yet I still find myself intrigued by the articles. So what does ‘having it all’ mean to you? I’m not even sure I know what it means to me.

I started working when I was 19. I’ve only ever worked for two companies, so I don’t have much to compare with but the way I feel and I’ve let my CEO know this; I intend to grow old here. I’m not the corporate type of girl, so this informal, only 15 minutes away from home, job is exactly what I need. There are days I envy the ‘exciting’ life some careers offer but the novelty soon wears off and I find myself wishing I didn’t have to work at all.

“There’s so much I could have done today,” I’d tell myself. Then I think of my son and how I wish, when he got home from school, that I’d be baking cookies and helping him with his homework. After that reverie, I remember being at home for 4 months on maternity leave and besides all the free sleep time I got, there was always chores, staring at me while I try to watch a movie. I also remember wasting money every week because I’d go to the mall, just to get out of the house and end up spending money I don’t have. A shopaholic with too much free time is not good at all.

When I came back to work I was relieved to be back amoung the hum-drum and stimulation of the work environment. Being at home with a baby made my brain a bit mushy. 

Working from home, won’t work. It just won’t. I lack the discipline.

It doesn’t help that when I browse the internet for schools I want to send my son (and maybe future kids) that the fees is more than my salary. Or the car I want to drive my kids in, to this grand school costs more than everything I own. (Including her good looks, I’ve inherited my mother’s expensive exquisite taste!)

Considering all the above, I think 4 days work, 1 day chores and 2 days weekend isn’t too much to ask. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be granted a weekly day off at my current place of employment, so it remains an, ‘in an ideal world’ scenario.

In the meantime, I’ll keep praying my husband lands a super generous paying job then I can be a stay at home mom who gets to drive a fancy car and indulge her shopaholic urges as well.

Leave a Reply

