Eid Ul Fitr 1433

We had quite a day yesterday.

I set up a very modest table of sweets for guests. It was cold and I assumed it would be a quiet day. However, it was busier than I expected, considering last year we had time to have a quiet lunch on our own before soaking up some sunshine in the backyard at a leisurely pace whereas this year we didn’t have time to even go to the bathroom without running.

For some reason my mom goes into this state of panic/OCD the day before and morning of Eid, every year. She rushes to get things done in record time, as if the president is coming to town. This year she wasn’t so hard on me but I still helped as much as possible (she’s the cook, I’m the minion). Plus LO was nagging to be held so I put the Moby wrap on backwards (shouldn’t really be worn like that) and put him on my back. As a result of this state my mom was in, there were a few burn victims i.e pototoes, pie, rolls… fortunately nothing too bad and we could salvage the survivors.

We kept the breakfast table very minimal too and didn’t even bother to put the scorched rolls on a platter and served it on the tray straight from the oven. I assured my mom that we needn’t stress about presentation because it was just us (mom, dad, hubby and me.. and little big boy)

My dad and DH came home, we exchanged hugs and sat down for breakfast. We didn’t even get a chance to finish our breakfast before the first knock at the door. (literally; I was mid-bite, eating a delicious slice of steak and mushroom pie – recipe to follow) It seems, a mere 30 minutes since the men returned from Masjied, our home filled up with neighbours streaming in and out.
When the coast was clear I got the LO into his outfit, he’s grown so much that the brand new abaya my mom bought him, didn’t fit! So at 8 months old he’s wearing 12-18 months old clothing. Anyway, he had two outfits but it was cold and only wore the one.

The clock was ticking and we had places to be, I made myself presentable then DH, LO and Me took a walk to a few neighbours to wish them Eid Mubarak. One of my neighbours didn’t even know I had a baby, the others were happy to see him for the first time or see how he’s grown since they saw him last as winter keeps us all indoors most of the time.

My brother, his wife and kids popped in to greet but by 12.30 the three of us hurried to the car and drove to DH’s dad a mere 10 minutes away. LO didn’t have his nap yet and fell asleep, just to wake up again when we got there. Poor kid hardly slept yesterday.

My mom’s side of the family came for lunch (essentially invited themselves) and we had a good time. By 4.30pm we were off to my dad’s side again. We spent the rest of the night at my uncle’s house (the one I mentioned in my last post) , while my parents went on without us & made rounds at more aunts and uncles. By 7pm DH & I brought LO home to sleep. Good thing DH insisted on taking separate cars. My parents only left my brother’s house around 9pm if not later.

This morning the house is a train wreck but its all good.

Relaxing in the backyard last year:

Dad & pregnant me. Eid Ul Fitr 1432 (2011)

6 responses to “Eid Ul Fitr 1433

  1. Lion Cub is also a big boy weighing in at about 10.5kg. He is at the limit of 6-12 clothes too.

    Big boys.

    It looks like you had a lovely time. I wish I could have popped in too. 😉

  2. You’re most welcome anytime dear. I also wish our kids could attend each other’s first birthday parties. Maybe in the future it’ll happen 😉

  3. Hey there. Your treats looked really lovely and I’m glad that you enjoyed your special day.

  4. Hey there. So lovely to discover your blog. Your Eid looked like so much fun. I miss living in a neighbourhood where people walked around wishing each other. We don’t have many Muslim people in our neighbourhood so our morning Eid table is essentially just set for my kids – not that they’re complaining 🙂

    • Salaams. I’ll be moving to a ‘not-so-many-Muslims’ area in December. So I also worry about our little traditions, hence my previous post: http://wp.me/p2Faxg-14
      Insha-Allah I’ll follow your lead and continue with the traditions even if it’s just in our home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

