HOW WOULD I KNOW?

link: HOW WOULD I KNOW?.

We hear of heinous crimes happening around us, even in our own neighborhoods but the thought of it has always been distant, as if it will never touch my or anyone I love’s life.

When I read articles like this it doesn’t only make me sick to my stomach anymore; it scares the hell out of me. It makes my heart freeze and ache, a feeling so real, I can only pray it away.

The reason this scares me so much is because I have a child now. He won’t be under my ever watchful eye forever, he will go into the world and come across all kinds of people. Will he be able to take care of himself? Some toddlers are a lot less forthcoming than most.  Will he be confidant and comfortable enough that he will share his fears, thoughts and experiences with me?

Over the years I’ve seen crime on various scales, manifest in the most unlikely people and it happens ever closer and closer to home. It’s as if nobody can avoid it or prevent it, all you can do is pray that your child never sees, hears, or even thinks something like this could ever happen or even exist, let alone experience. Of course, I don’t want him to experience an assault of any nature; bulling, emotional abuse, manipulation, physical abuse but most of all sexual abuse.

I think I would probably end up in a mental institution if this happened to my son. After imagining various ways I would hunt the suspect down and torture this person in the vilest ways possible, I really don’t know what I’d do and I pray that I never have to find out. EVER!

One response to “HOW WOULD I KNOW?

  1. I would be right next to you hunting the sicko down. It is a terrible story and it makes me all the more aware of how it is our responsibilty as parents to protect our children.

Leave a Reply

